fbpx
Golf Rules 2019 – What’s new with accidental mishits?

Golf Rules 2019 – What’s new with accidental mishits?

Ball hits the player or equipment (Rule 11)

Previously, a penalty stroke was incurred if the player hit himself or his own equipment.

Now, this is without penalty provided it happened accidentally.

Good to know: You are therefore not allowed to use your equipment or your foot as a ball stopper.

Double hit (Rule 10)

Previously, a penalty stroke was incurred if the club got stuck when a stroke was played and, as a result, the ball was hit more than once.

Now, a mishap such as this is without penalty.

Good to know: A double hit therefore just counts as one stroke.

2 Responses to Golf Rules 2019 – What’s new with accidental mishits?

  1. Carl June 11, 2019 at 5:37 pm #

    This is great to know,I had a lie in the bunker embedded exactly as your photo. I hit down on it and the result was terrible.That’s why I wish I had known.

  2. Kevin Hailey June 24, 2019 at 2:36 am #

    Is there a penalty for using the back side of a putter i.e. blade played backhand when there is little or no backswing room to flick or fling the ball forward or to another position?

Leave a Reply

Get the FREE GolfersRx Newsletter!

Subscribe Now

Join our FREE members-only newsletter and get exclusive tips, video drills, and deal alerts delivered directly to your inbox!

We respect your privacy and will never share your email address