Rules of Golf: The Unplayable Ball

Exactly what makes a ball unplayable? And exactly what should you do next? Barry Rhodes explains it all… exactly.

6 Responses to Rules of Golf: The Unplayable Ball

  1. Bill April 7, 2018 at 5:23 am #

    And is it a one stroke penalty?

    • Barry Rhodes April 15, 2018 at 11:17 am #

      The penalty for taking relief for a ball that is deemed unplayable is one stroke, whichever option is chosen, Rule 28.

  2. Lee April 7, 2018 at 10:41 am #

    what happens if your ball is in the bush,but a electrical box is also in the center of the bush, do tou get afree drop or is there still apenalty? Thank you

    • Barry Rhodes April 15, 2018 at 11:17 am #

      If the electrical box interferes with the intended stance or area of intended swing of a stroke the player would reasonably have made from the bush had the box not been there, then they may take relief without penalty from the box, an immovable obstruction. However, this relief does not mean that the player gets any relief from the bush and the permitted area of drop from the box may still be within the bush. The Exception to Rule 24-2 is the relevant reference.

  3. Jim Murrieta April 15, 2018 at 10:41 am #

    Hello Barry –
    Love listening to your explanations. Too bad we can’t make it a mandatory class before golfers head out to the course.

    • Barry Rhodes April 15, 2018 at 11:16 am #

      Thank you! That would be nice.

Leave a Reply

Get the FREE GolfersRx Newsletter!

Subscribe Now

Join our FREE members-only newsletter and get exclusive tips, video drills, and deal alerts delivered directly to your inbox!

We respect your privacy and will never share your email address